The Society for Economic Measurement (SEM) was founded in 2013 by William A. Barnett and Stephen Spear to promote research on economic measurement, using advanced tools from economic theory, econometrics, aggregation theory, experimental economics, mathematics, and statistics. The long run objectives are to meet the data standards established for the physical sciences, subject to the inherent limitations of a social science. The society’s founding cosponsors are Carnegie Mellon University, the Center for Financial Stability, and the University of Kansas.

The inaugural conference at the U. of Chicago was cosponsored by the Becker Friedman Institute and the 2013 President of the Econometric Society.  See Previous Events for the other SEM conferences over the years. The society has a Facebook page. 

Gaetano Antinolfi
Washington University in St. Louis

Victor J. Valcarcel
University of Texas at Dallas

Past Presidents:
William A. Barnett (2013-2018)
Apostolos Serletis (2019-2023)

Past Secretary-Treasurers:
Stephen Spear (2013-2022)
Ryan Mattson (2023)

Bylaws of the Society for Economic Measurement.

Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted.”  (Albert Einstein)By measurement to knowledge [door meten tot weten].”  (Heike Kamerlingh Onnes, “The Significance of Quantitative Research in Physics.” Inaugural Address at the University of Leiden (1882)).

If you cannot measure, your knowledge is meager and unsatisfactory.”  (Lord Kelvin)

There is no science without measurement, no quality without testing, and no global markets without standards.”
(Commission of the European Union).